Meet the Women – Beaded Treasures Arrow Fat Left Icon Arrow Fat Right Icon Arrow Right Icon Cart Icon Close Circle Icon Expand Arrows Icon Facebook Icon Instagram Icon Pinterest Icon Twitter Icon Youtube Icon Hamburger Icon Information Icon Down Arrow Icon Mail Icon Mini Cart Icon Person Icon Ruler Icon Search Icon Shirt Icon Triangle Icon Bag Icon Play Video

Meet the Women

 

Maryam

Maryam came to the United States from Iraq as a refugee. She has four boys and makes beautiful jewelry. 

Maryam participated in our first group who tested the microcredit model!

    

Jeannette

A refugee from the DR Congo, Jeannette has lived and worked in the U.S. for more than eighteen years. She has a knack for selling and creates amazingly creative designs!

Jeannette is also one of our first graduates!

Sally

Conflict in Iraq forced Sally to flee to Syria where she lived for three years before finally resettling in Louisville a year ago.  She loves developing her own unique jewelry designs and experimenting with new techniques.  She especially enjoys crafting one-of-a-kind earrings and working with wire.  When not making jewelry, she is busy caring for her growing family.

 

Yangjen

Yangjen is from the mountains of Nepal.  She creates jewelry as well as knitting beautiful sweaters, hats, and scarves.  She has two young children and studied Arts Management in Nepal.  Her husband is studying at a seminary here in Louisville.  We welcome her sweet spirit and positive attitude.

Khina

Khina is Padma's mother-in-law and they make a great jewelry making team. Khina is very committed to the Project and is one of our earliest members. When not busy cooking for her family, she enjoys spending time with her grandson, Aaron, who just started walking!

Odette

Odette moved to Louisville in 2001 to flee the war in Congo. She has 3 children and considers Louisville her hometown. In her free time, she enjoys reading, cooking, gardening, sewing and of course, making jewelry! Odette dreams of opening an African art shop filled with clothing, jewelry and paintings.

Pabitra

Pabitra has lived in the United States for about two years.  She is from Nepal.  She is the mother of four children and is often busy caring for her busy household.  She recently joined the Project and has already produced an amazing amount of jewelry and has demonstrated a great deal of enthusiasm.  She enjoys cooking, listening to music, and watching TV in her spare time.